About UsServices & ProgramsProjects, Studies & Reports

Creation of the District

The Pearl River Basin Development District was created by the State Legislature in 1964 as a special fund agency to assume the legal responsibilities involved in coordinating local, state and federal programs for water resource development.
The enabling legislation was designed to permit those counties within the Pearl River Basin to join together for the purpose of planning and constructing projects for recreational uses, flood control, pollution abatement and soil conservation.

Characteristics of the District

Eligible counties were allowed to join on an individual basis by county-wide referendum.  Member counties include: Hancock, Leake, Lincoln, Marion, Neshoba, Pearl River, Pike, Scott, Simpson and Walthall.

The District has a 25 member Board of Directors.  Two Directors are appointed by each County Board of Supervisors for 6 year terms.  One Director is appointed from each of the following state agencies: State Board of Health, Forestry Commission, Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks, and the Department of Environmental Quality.  One Director is appointed by the Governor.

The District holds quarterly Board of Directors meetings in January, April, July and October.

2304 Riverside Dr., Box 5332
Jackson, MS 39296-5332
Phone: 601-354-6301
Fax: 601-354-6353
Mississippi Web Design and Hosting